Sunday, April 12, 2009

Farewell Bloggers

As the semester comes to a close, so does my blog. It went alot better than I thought it would, and sadly I began to enjoy doing it. 

Informing the unenthused drivers of my class has been rather eye-opening, and has allowed me to reflect on how I consider my audience when writing. 

I do regret not posting more about different fuel sources and their effects on modern transportation, such as my recent posts on the benefits of diesel. It would have allowed me to broaden my audience to more of an eco-aware group of readers and their opinions, possibly teaching me a thing or two.

Then again, I feel like I've opened many eyes to a very diverse scene of racing. From Formula 1 to vintage racing on a weekend, hopefully someone can look farther than just NASCAR, when they talk about racing. Hopefully a couple of people have taken my advice, and dropped the phone, while driving, causing less danger on the road. 

It is from here I must come to a close, end the season.

Did I finish on the podium,... or did I crash into the wall in a fiery flame? You decide.

Friday, April 10, 2009

Speaking of Diesels

Autoblog just reviewed the BMW 335d, a 3.0L twin turbo diesel that is slated for the states. Their words were very enthusiastic towards the powerplant, stating that it was a great car for racking up the miles on the highway. Passing speed is fast and effortless, and even driving at 80, they were seeing over 30m.p.g. 

While the power delivery may be different from what our gasoline motors have gotten us used to, the diesel is actually much more suited to American driving. Low-revving at high speed, and torquey for putting in traffic.

The testers at Autoblog did have a few negative comments about the car, but most of those had to do with the interior and how quick the options added to the cost of the car. 

So, how about it? Would you consider a diesel, now?

You can read the review for yourself at: http://www.autoblog.com/2009/04/10/review-2009-bmw-335d-proves-efficient-dynamics-is-more-entert/ 

Sunday, April 5, 2009

Malaysian Grand Prix

Well, the Malaysian Grand Prix aired today, but was cut short due to torrential rain. The very new Brawn team is proving to be quite an epic team, winning it's second first place finish in a row. 

For the first time, since 1984, the F1 top eight finisher will only recieve half points for their finishing positions, becuase of the rain cutting the race short by over half the race. 

Eventhough it was short, the race proved to be exciting while it lasted, with very competetive side-by-side racing. This season's proving to become one of the best in recent years.

Check out the gallery of photos at autoblog to see the flood that occured: http://www.autoblog.com/photos/2009-malaysian-grand-prix/

Diesel

Diesel. It's been widely used throughout Europe for some time, but it has never really caught on here in the states.

In Europe gas prices can be as much as five times what we pay for a gallon of gas. When the price spikes in fuel occured earlier this year, and we were complaining about $4/gallon gas, they suffered worse. So, while we were scrambling to pick up Civics and little eco-cars, the Europeans weren't quite as frantic. "Why?", you may ask.

In Europe, countries are not as distant as they are in the United States, allowing for very easy and economical means of transport by train. If you've been to New York City, you know many people rarely ever need a car, because the subway system is so much more practical. That is what the European train system is to Europe. And, when the need to have a car is inevitable, Europeans have a more reasonable approach to buying cars. Instead of large, heavy cars and SUVs, they purchase very small, light cars with small motors that return great fuel mileage.

Here is where diesel comes in. Even though they are sometimes chattery, noisy at idle, and sometimes lacking in power bandwidth, diesels can return incredible feul mileage. This is a big deal when gas costs easily $5-7 USD.

You would think that diesel would've been huge in the States when gas prices soared, but it didn't really come into stride. Even after people realized they could run on home-made vege-fuel. Too messy, I guess, when you have to store it in your home somewhere. I mean, the diesel truck driver may have gotten good use out of the new technology, but the diesel CAR never really took off. 

I believe this is because of two things. First, for many years it has been hard for diesels to pass certain emmisions tests, especially in California, and if it can't go to California, chances are it won't make it to the states. This has given diesels a bad reputation of being dirty, and in the past decade's sudden global environmental crisis, we can't use dirty anymore. Secondly, the recent implementation of hybrids and electric battery powered vehicles has deterred the idea of making cleaner and more efficient motors. Except for a select few auto manufactures: VW and Audi.

VW use to be the only diesel car option for the states. It can be modified to return 50+ m.p.g. Audi has made huge strides in diesel technology with their LeMans race car. They have even had campaigns to raise awareness and interest in diesel cars, and I think people are warming up to the idea. Mercedes and BMW offers their clean diesel, which utilizes urea pellets to clean greenhouse gases. They don't drive too bad, either. They're torquey, which is great for around town, return great mileage, and manufacturers have quieted them down quite a bit. 

"Well, if they're so great, why do I barely see them growing?"

With stringent emissions rulings becoming ever more stringent, and the push for less dependancy on oil, many feel diesel is just not the answer to the larger problem.

Not to worry though! Audi is still planning to bring a few diesels to the states, and I've read news about Mazda readying a diesel that is clean sans the urea injection.

Ahh, just the way I like it, MEAN, and green.

Sunday, March 29, 2009

Questionable Question?

I came across this article (http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/uptospeed/2009/03/black-car-ban.html) about CARB looking to push for more reflective paints, so as to keep cars cooler. Their reasoning was that the cooler a car stays, the less A/C needs to be used, which in turn would use less fuel. 

One of the big things that came up was that black just wasn't reflective enough, and wouldn't be able to meet such a standard if implemented, but a recent statement calmed many fears of a ban on the color black in the near future.

Now, if you don't know, CARB (California Air Resource Board), is a division in California for emissions regulations (Green Freaks).

Well, I got curious, and looked up the board members, and credentials. Only one person was listed as automotive related. What really sucks about this sort of thing is the lack of knowledge dictating what should be allowed, and what should be banned. 

If you read in the article they want windows to come from the factory with a coating to keep your car cooler, but the last time I checked that is what some decent window tint was for. And coatings. Coatings are ussually chemicals, and I doubt any chemical mixed coating they want to spray on these windows are going to be natural in the least.

Then, they have this huge focus on energy saving, but they will not be open minded to diesel technology, which could provide nearly twice the fuel mileage of gas engines. Instead of encouraging the use of diesel, they claim that it is  filthy and is harmful to the environment. 

Another thing that I don't like, is the fact that they go around claiming that anything that has a chemical in it is bad for women and children, and the elderly, and the planet. But guess what? Everything has chemicals in it. 

I read an article on their websites front page, and it stated that air pollution caused more allergies. I say bull-shit. I think the whole clean freak, lack of exposure to anything causes more allergies in children. They can't build an immunity to particulates and dust, because you have that HEPA vacuum, A/C, and Lysol wiped everything in your house. A little dirt and dust never killed anyone.

What scares me is the fact that these people have the potential power to ruin the automobile. They could implement unrealitic policies that would, and could have already taken its effect on the industry.

It's just like what our teacher said about our government law makers not knowing enough about technologies. They have no business enforcing what they do not understand. 

I'm going to end this on a final note. Hydrogen is the answer. It is ready. It is efficient. It just needs an infrastructure to be set in place. Why it hasn't started already, is probably because of dirty money and politics, but it will have to come at some point. Hopefully sooner than later.  

Drift Genesis

Here's a cool look at the new Hyundai Genesis Coupe, Rhys Millen will be driving for the 2009 season of drifting. 

He gives a thorough look around, and gives a good description for what has and can be done to the car for racing purposes. 

Millen used to drive a Pontiac Solstice, but after his contract with Pontiac expired, Hyundai came to him with a proposal for their new, affordable, rear wheel drive coupe. 

Although I am not ecstatic about the looks, it's hard to beatthe value. The Genesis Coupe only costs a touch over 20K, and can be had with either a V-6, or a turbo 4.Tuners will eat it up, and they plan on selling a track pack version of the car.

Sounds good to me.

Sunday, March 22, 2009

Stunt 101

I thought this was pretty neat. Who doesn't like to learn a trick or two every now and then? Hey, maybe it'll help you get away from the badies...if such a case were ever to happen. You never know!

Vintage Racing. The Way it Ought to Be.

I was on Jalopnik  when I came around this gallery of photos from a British Vintage Race: http://jalopnik.com/5179447/no-prince-of-darkness-jokes-please-british-vintage-race-cars-in-action

I really like vintage auto racing. It keeps classics alive, and puts them to use. I never liked the idea of keeping cars locked up in museums and garages. By doing so, you greedily hide something that should be shared, and experienced. 

For instance, when there is a million dollar Ferrari in someone's garage, no one except for a fortunate few get to understand why it is such a special car, fetching such a special price. When you take said cars out to auto shows, such as Amelia Island, or Pebble Beach, you at least get to let others see and hear the cars of their dreams. When you take a vintage car racing, you allow yourself the pleasure of experiencing what fellow drivers from the past have felt, heard, and seen. You allow others to see what spectators saw.

Now, you don't need to have million dollar classics to go vintage racing, either. No, that's what makes it so great! If you look in the gallery linked above, you can see most of the cars racing are by no means expensive. You can purchase an old MG or a Datsun for a few hundred bucks,  and go to town. I've seen Go-Karts more expensive than that! And if you're older than 16, I doubt you want to go around bragging about your Go-Kart.

That's why I love vintage racing so much. It's history in front of your eyes, and you can experience it, too.

Saturday, March 21, 2009

And the Winner is...

As I posted yesterday, Audi raced their new R15 P1 race car in the 12 Hours of Sebring today. They took first place in the Prototype 1 class, and took the overall win as well.

This remarkable new car has not had as much testing as Audi says they would have liked, but today has proved their new car is a force to be reckoned with. Taking first and third, they have not only proven the speed of their new car, but the durability as well.

Audi's main rivals in the ALMS (American Le Mans Series), Peugeot, will have to really plan and prepare some strategies if they intend on taking the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Today they took second and fifth. 

This coming season should prove to be very competitive and entertaining to watch, keeping fans across the globe on the edge of their seats. I'm anticipating the arrival of the Formula 1 season, as well. Hopefully, that too, will be just as fun to watch.

Results for the 12 Hours of Sebring can be found here: http://www.americanlemans.com/index_news.php?n=12628

Friday, March 20, 2009

Truth in 24

Tonight I watched a special they had on ESPN called Truth in 24. It's an inside look into Audi's R10 diesel powered race car, and its venture in the 24 Hours of Le Mans. 

It was beautifully filmed, and it really gives an outsider a peek into what goes on in the pits and the drivers perspectives. 

The film takes place during the 2008 Le Mans race, and Audi is fighting for 1st against their new diesel powered rival, Peugeot. Peugeot's car is newer and faster, and has been beating Audi throughout the series. Audi hopes they can beat them in the 24 hour race with experience and reliability.

Until I saw Allen McNish deliver commentary to a video of the circuit, I never realised how different race car drivers were from good drivers. Perhaps, it's because he's actually driven the track, and has done so MANY times, he can deliver speed, gear, handling characteristics of the car,  and recollect just about anything that goes on during a "fast" lap. It goes to show how much information one must process while focusing on keeping the car on the track. Or better yet, how much focus is involved to not stop processing all that information.

Tomorrow is the 12 hours of Sebring, and Audi will be racing their new R15. We'll have to see if their new diesel V10 chassis performs as well as the rest of the cars. 

Details can be found here: http://jalopnik.com/5167230/the-audi-r15-tdi-now-in-glorious-detail

Sunday, March 8, 2009

Why Not?

Jalopnik has this great post they started doing again called "Engine of the Day". I was reading it and learned something cool? They show cased the Ford OHC (over head cam) motor, which was originally found in the Ford Pinto. 

Now, the Pinto may have not been the safest, but perhaps the coolest, because they were known to explode in rear end collisions. While the Pinto didn't last long the motor did, finding its way into many Ford's up until 2001. That's a good thirty years! The best part is, the last car equipped with motor was the Ford Ranger, in a 2.5Liter form.

Guess what? My Mazda truck, is a re-badged Ford Ranger. You know what motor I have? A 2.5L OHC. I drive a truck with a Pinto motor! Geez. That makes a lot of sense. If it were a modern design, it would have more than 80 horsepower.

But! I there may be an upside to this. I saw a few examples of some race-prepped OHC motors. MaybeI can build up my truck motor for some decent horsepower and snappy throttle response.

Oh yeah, I forgot, that's retarded.

I need that Datsun I've been eying for awhile. At least that car participated in motorsports.

Jalopnik post: http://jalopnik.com/5165997/engine-of-the-day-ford-ohc  

Music to My Ears

This weekend, the question came upon me: What is the best sounds made by a car? 

I had an idea, but I came up with a short list of some of the best sounding cars in the world. Here in order from first to fifth is my list.

1. Any cars from this fantastic Ferrari/Shell commercial, because it captures the awesome sound Ferrari has been producing for over 50 years.

2. This 1968-72 Nissan Skyline GT-R has proves that one of the best exhaust notes doesn't have to come from a huge motor. Equipped with a 2.0Liter straight 6 motor, it screams into the stratosphere.

3. Any Aston Martin will melt your heart, but the race cars will truly turn your insides into pudding. Here's the Aston Martin DBR9 on Top Gear

4. Now, I haven't forgotten the Americans! The Ford GT-40 makes a menacing growl that would make you grin for days.

5. Lastly, at number 5, I have to pick the Subaru with its Boxer 4 turbo motor. It has a deep gutteral burble to its exhaust note, and is easily identified from down the block.  Combined with the whistle from the turbo and its bypass valve, you have a sweet batch of candy.

 

This list is very open to my changing at any moment, because just like music, you get a taste for something different from time to time.

Thursday, February 26, 2009

Lotus Omnivore Motor

Lotus made a press release today detailing their prototype motor, the Omnivore. Titled "Omnivore", or creatures that eat both animals and plants, the Lotus motor is capable of running on different types of fuel.

It is a two stroke single cylinder design, much like an old dirt bike motor, but FAR more technically advanced. It utilizes direct fuel injection and variable compression ratios. These technologies allow the motor to run on ethanol, any octane of gas, and although Lotus did not mention it, possibly diesel. 

The lack of poppet valves allows the block to not require a seperate head, or head gasket, making it more durable and efficient.

Another plus, is that because it is a two stroke, it has twice as many power strokes compared to a four stroke. This means more power, and requires less cylinders to achieve similar power of its four cycle kin. 

In today's fuel efficient, and environmentally conscience society, this motor could prove  to be quite the notch in motor engineering history. You can run it on just about any form of combustible liquid, and theoretically it would work. As far as environmentally sound, two strokes havn't had the best rep for being clean, but Lotus claims, because it runs higher compressions, it should burn fuel much more efficiently.

You could run all sorts of fuels, and it should be clean, too. This motor is the future of combustible engine transportation!

But it's not. You see, back in 1957, Felix Wankel created the first running prototype of the Wankel Rotary motor. In the late 60's, Mazda utilized this motor in their Cosmos, and later in their RX-series of cars. I remember my neighbor once telling me, when he first heard about those motors, he thought they were going to be the motor everyone was going to be using in the future. 

Forty years later, and Mazda is still the only production car company using a Rotary. Perhaps, Lotus will make it their signature motor, but I just can't help being skeptical about this motors' success. 

For photos, and the press release, you can go here:http://jalopnik.com/tag/lotus-omnivore/?id=5160933

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Insanely Modified VW Lupo

Ok, I'm a HUGE fan of modified street cars. It shows what you can do fabrication-wise, or it can show how much money you have to burn. I tend to lean more on the fabrication side, because I'm a broke college student, but that's another story.

I saw the beginning of this build about a year or two ago and nearly spit out whatever I was drinking. I hadn't checked back on the progress, and forgot about, until I read a post on Jalopnik about it today. I thought to myself, "I've seen this before!". They didn't write much about it, but they posted a bunch of Youtube clips of it.

Here's the run-down. A couple of Croatian friends got together and turned their VW Lupo into a monster. For those of you who don't know, the VW Lupo is a small car sold in Europe and South America that is smaller than the Golf.

What these guys did was rip out the puny 1.4?Liter motor, and swapped in the VW Jetta's VR6 motor. The VR6 is a narrow angled V-6 that is compact and coupled to a front wheel drive transmission. They cranked it up to eleven by putting another VR6 motor in the rear. This insane combination gives them an all drive twin motor Lupo witha stripped out, and roll caged interior. 

That, my friend, is impressive. Fast too!

When it comes to this sort of thing, there are  no instructions. All there is, is some creativity, balls, and mad fabrication skills. That is why I love modifying cars so much. How far are you willing to push the limits? What makes it different?

Sometimes, even Frankenstein can be beautiful.

You can see the article by Jalopnik here: http://jalopnik.com/tag/twin-vr6-awd-vw-lupo/?id=5156754&autoplay=true 

Sunday, February 22, 2009

Art on Wheels

So, I'm browsing Jalopnik, and I come across a post about the Pagani Zonda R. It's an uber expensive track machine with an ear splittingly loud exhaust that could melt your heart. 

As a composites tech in my club, I'm very interested in carbon-fiber. When properly laid, it is simply a thing of beauty.This Zonda R, is a thing of beauty. A showcase of their talent and skill with the material. The entire car is perfectly V'd down the center, and has that awesome matte finish that comes with the use of very high quality aerospace carbon that needs to be kept in a freezer for storage. 

Alright, go ahead and take a look at what I've been oozing about:

http://jalopnik.com/tag/pagani-zonda-r/?id=5156281

Coolest Driveway EVER!

Many a car guy will spend their time, wrenching in their oil stained driveway. Many take their driveway for granted as the last bit of driving before they leave and get home. One Florida man, decided to make every last bit of his journey home the most exciting by building a track for a driveway.

Discovered by GoogleMaps, this man has a nice little circuit for a driveway, complete with corner markers and all. I find myself a little jealous, while I catch myself drooling at the prospect of actually "racing" to and from school, legally. I mean, who wouldn't want to start their day with a fast lap?

Ladies and gentlemen, start your engines!

For pictures and more information, go to http://www.autoblog.com/2009/02/21/mans-race-track-driveway-revealed-on-google-maps/ 

I finally got some photos!



I promised I would post some photos of composite work I did at the SAE shop. So, here you go. 

This is a twill weave, which means it is a very workable fabric, that is commonly seen on all of those, "JDM tyte" hoods and just about anything they sell made out of carbon. 

This particular piece is a panel I made to house our ECU and data aquisition equipment. It needed to be very stiff and light, so I used a foam core, and 4 layers of carbon fiber in alternating weave patterns.

What does all that mean? The foam core adds stiffness, while the 4 layers of alternating weave pattern create a rigid piece that is also light. How light? Lets just say it's as light as a feather, stiff as a piece of steel. I can't get this thing to come even close to bending with my hands. It's incredible! Oh, and it looks cool as anything. 

Tonight I made the mold for the hood, and will hopefully be able to have someone take a picture of that for you to see, but until then, enjoy.

Sunday, February 15, 2009

My Apologies

My apologies go out to my parents, whom I bug all the time with my car mumbo jumbo, and threaten to occupy their garage with a rusty ass clunker everyday. I'm sure it gets old very quick, but I can't help it. Cars are just an obsession I have that you will have to live with. Some would say it is not healthy, and others say I need help, but you treat me like I were a normal boy. Oh, and mom, it was dad's fault.

My apologies go out to my friends, who have also had to listen to me go on and on about cars. Sure, we were watching football, but I couldn't help it. Yet, you still let me hang out with you guys.

My apologies go out to my teachers, who I have totally and completely ignored, especially in math class, to draw cars. What can I say, I was just bored. Did you walk up to me, and yell to stop drawing my stupid cars? No. You just let me be, and failed me. 

I'm sorry, but in the most sarcastic, and untruthful way, because I don't care. You got a problem with it, we can go outside and talk about cars. 

Racing Simulators

As a huge car fan, I enjoy racing games. I'm absolutely broke, so it gives me some form of competitive automotive racing to participate in. Sure, it's nowhere near as thrilling as the real thing, but can it be used as a tool to help drivers learn new techniques and race tracks?

I think so. I'm a huge fan of Forza for XBox 360, and I love it because it so realistic. I have been to Sebring, and when I play Forza, I feel like I am back there, going through the 17 turns. So, yes, if I intended on visiting a track, I would definitely utilize a racing simulator, or at least Forza, to learn the tracks. 

Another thing that I like about it, is that I can learn vehicle dynamics playing the game. If I want to see how fast I need to go in a rear wheel driveto do a reverse flick, I would use a rear wheel drive car in the game, and give it a go. As many times as I want. Legally. In real life, I would have to burn through tires, and find a safe open space to legally do such an experiment.

Now, I don't believe driving simulators, or at least Forza, can offer certain experiences of real racing that is important for every driver to learn. Things, such as sensory input. The game can only stimulate the senses vaguely.

It can not inflict G-forces, the smell of burning rubber, brake and clutch fluid, the feel, or lack thereof of the wheels on the road. And the sound! God, the aural pleasure of the sound of motors revving to their limit. Games can only shake the controller, and play some recording on the tv. Until you've been racing in the real world, you havn't experienced racing.

But! In video games you don't experience the dangers of racing either. The crashes at 150 m.p.h. The loss of brakes, or power, while other cars of varying tonnage fly past. 

Racing games provide a good base for people who want to just have fun for a few minutes on the cheap, learn a home track or two, or even better their driving skills through observation and experimentation. I like racing games. Especially Forza 2. (Oh, I can't wait for the 3rd!)

Sunday, February 8, 2009

Ford, Hmm...

Everytime anyone mentions Ford, all I can do is sigh. Yeah, they have some bad-ass cars, but I can't help but feel let down, and almost betrayed by our beloved American auto. I mean, Henry Ford started the mass production of cars, and he started here, dammit, in America! 

So, why the hell are the Europeans getting all of the good stuff. For the past decade or so, the Euros have been getting all of the fancy, cool looking, as well as good handling fun cars. Have you seen the last two generation of the Focus. Jesus! 

But, have you seen the Euro version? No, well, it looks and drives a hell of a lot better. Autoblog, another car blog, but ALOT larger than mine, has recently posted, 

"Having driven the current European Focus in sporty ST trim and with the even hotter RS version rolling off the assembly line, we can tell you that our friends across the Atlantic have one fine-handling hatchback on their hands. And for the next generation, Ford is planning to give the Focus the styling and rakish profile its chassis deserves. The next Focus, which we hope will replace the American version as well, will spawn several body-styles."

I've even read reviews about the Ford Mondeo, another Ford car we don't get, is a great car! Hopefully, Ford has finally come to their senses and realized they have neglected their family back home, and decide to give us the Euro versions of their cars. 

I mean, how could you not want a street legal version of their rally car Focus, which is based on the Euro focus!

Whooo!!

This is just awesome.

This is a video of Rick Huseman, driver of a Toyota Tundra in the CORR(Championship Off Road Racing) series, unintentionally performing a stunning double front flip, while sticking the landing. I believe in gymnastics, that would be worthy of a ten.

Carbon-Fiber

In today's motorsports carbon-fiber is extensively used throughout the car to save as many ounces as possible. If making a part that only weighed an ounce less than its metal counterpart, but cost thousands more, they will use it, because in racing every ounce adds up. Those ounces are what makes or breaks first place.

Weight savings in general is just an all around advantage. You use less energy, i.e. fuel, go faster, and handle better. The great Colin Chapman, the founder of Lotus and creator of many a great formula cars, said "Adding power makes you faster on the straights. Subtracting weight makes you faster everywhere." He also once said, "You won't catch me driving a race car that I have built.", but that is a quote for another post.

Carbon-fiber has been the go to material for the past few decades in aerospace technologies and racing. Although it is not very cost effective(it's incredibly expensive), it has many benefits.

First of all, the most known use for it is to save weight. You can make very light items with it. Secondly, it is good in an accident. In normal accidents in a car, the metal around you absorbs the shock and impact. Carbon fiber, on the hand, shatters apart, taking the impact with the shattered parts. It is not very cost effective on normal cars, because people wreck their cars everyday, and replacing carbon bumpers would be excrutiatingly painful on the wallet, but in F1, where you crash into a wall backwards at 180 m.p.h. it makes a whole lot of sense.

At the shop for SAE, I handle alot of the composite work, including carbon-fiber. It's actually a very delicate material when dry, and not impregnated with resin. It's almost like a surgical procedure when I have to lay up a part, because there is alot of factors that go in to making a strong, lightweight part. Now, it sounds like a huge hassle, just to save some weight, but I come to my final reasoning behind using carbon-fiber. When you pull a part, and it comes out with the weave all shiny and even, no distortion, it's simply gorgeous to look at! 

I would post a picture, but my camera is broken, and the picture I was going to post, blogger wanted to be a punk, and not allow me to. I'll try and edit one in soon.

Saturday, January 31, 2009

Formula SAE

As a member of SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers), I participate in Formula SAE. It is a collegiate design contest against other college SAE teams. I figured this would be a good place to share some of my experiences.

I was on Jalopnik, and I came across this video they posted about. It is the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign team, and it is a time-lapse of building their car. It's a cool look into what we do. Starting from nothing, and finishing with a car.

Here's the link to the story and video: http://jalopnik.com/5142827/time+lapse-video-makes-formula-sae-chassis-fabrication-interesting   

Throughout the semester, I'm going to start trying to post some pictures, and hopefully some videos of our cars and their progress.

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Behind the Wheel

I was driving home the other day when I was stopped at a red light. I looked over to the person next to me, and noticed she was talking on the phone. Now, I'm not a very big advocate of such actions while driving, but what am I going to do? Yell at her to hang up the damn phone. I mean, we are stopped at a light. 

Well, the light turns green and I havn't gone more than a block when I notice that this woman just about nearly crashes. Could this have happened because she was on the phone? More than likely, and I come to realize, maybe I should tell her to get off the damn phone. 

You see, I enjoy driving in its purest form. No distractions, such as the phone, texting, eating and drinking. Nope. Just me, and the car. I like rowing through the gears, and flicking my car into corners as fast as legally possible. Hell, sometimes I don't even listen to the radio. You get to learn all of the little creaks and sqweaks your car makes.

Then again, I probably don't multi-task in my car because it is a manual, and it is painfully slow. But that wouldn't be the truth, either.

I find multi-tasking behind the wheel incredibly dangerous. I knew a kid in high school who wrecked his new car into a tree while texting, and while we all laughed, we should have slapped the hell out of him, because that tree could have been a kid. I've also witnessed with my own eyes, many accidents, which is kind of creepy to me. Think about it. If I were in that other lane, or that person turning left, I could have been the victim of those accidents.

To be perfectly honest, I wouldn't have a problem if using the phone behind the wheel became against the law. Most people don't drive very well to begin with. Our licensing program sucks, you don't get taught shit unless you go to a driving school, and to pass the stupid test all you have to do is drive around a parking lot. Big deal! Do you know what to do when your tail comes out from behind you at 40? Probably not. Especially when you are 16, and havn't been driving for more than a year or two.

You may be reading this, and saying, "Meh, I'm a 'good' driver. I can talk on the phone, eat a burrito, and drive at the same time." Well, my friend, you have a very different definition of "good" than I do. Oh, and try not to spill that mild suace, it stains horribly.

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Economy Woes

Just yesterday GM announced their sales figures for the year, and Toyota took numero uno, for the largest car sales manufacture in the world. Times are tough, and GM's really getting kicked around. But its not just GM. All car manufacturers are getting hit. 

Funny thing is, I've noticed this pattern from manufacture-backed racing. Most manufacture- backed racing teams are pulling out of racing this season. This may seem like common sense, but it gives you a very good idea of where some auto companies sit financially. For instance, Formula 1. Honda dropped out of F1, because it requires the most tremendous budget than any forms of racing. It's not that Honda is broke. It's just not in their priorities right now to invest their money in it. Suzuki, Subaru, and many other teams have dropped, as well, because they just don't have the cash. 

Here's the good part. At least we know Mercedes, Ferrari, and Toyota are doing well. They just unveiled their 2009 Formula 1 cars this past week. It's good to know some companies aren't being hit as badly in this economic slump.

Hello!

There's just something about cars that have brought people together for almost a century. Whether it be the looks, the sounds, or the feelings they inspire and inflict upon us. The car community is at its largest and still growing. As a car guy myself, I reach out to others through cars, as well. I build race cars on a team at school, and meet other teams around the country. It's a great way to meet people, and everyone is pretty friendly, because everyone shares the same interests.

The internet has proven paramount to the growth and connection of car lovers across the globe, by making communication to others easier. There are forums, blogs, and video-sharing sites that allow car guys to share information, experiences, as well as their own lives, with other car enthusiasts alike.

By using the internet as a tool for learning, I can hopefully share my opinions and ideas about cars with others through this blog. As an active member of the car community, I believe it is important to share as many thoughts and ideas as possible. Who knows? It might inspire new ideas and products.