I was driving home the other day when I was stopped at a red light. I looked over to the person next to me, and noticed she was talking on the phone. Now, I'm not a very big advocate of such actions while driving, but what am I going to do? Yell at her to hang up the damn phone. I mean, we are stopped at a light.
Well, the light turns green and I havn't gone more than a block when I notice that this woman just about nearly crashes. Could this have happened because she was on the phone? More than likely, and I come to realize, maybe I should tell her to get off the damn phone.
You see, I enjoy driving in its purest form. No distractions, such as the phone, texting, eating and drinking. Nope. Just me, and the car. I like rowing through the gears, and flicking my car into corners as fast as legally possible. Hell, sometimes I don't even listen to the radio. You get to learn all of the little creaks and sqweaks your car makes.
Then again, I probably don't multi-task in my car because it is a manual, and it is painfully slow. But that wouldn't be the truth, either.
I find multi-tasking behind the wheel incredibly dangerous. I knew a kid in high school who wrecked his new car into a tree while texting, and while we all laughed, we should have slapped the hell out of him, because that tree could have been a kid. I've also witnessed with my own eyes, many accidents, which is kind of creepy to me. Think about it. If I were in that other lane, or that person turning left, I could have been the victim of those accidents.
To be perfectly honest, I wouldn't have a problem if using the phone behind the wheel became against the law. Most people don't drive very well to begin with. Our licensing program sucks, you don't get taught shit unless you go to a driving school, and to pass the stupid test all you have to do is drive around a parking lot. Big deal! Do you know what to do when your tail comes out from behind you at 40? Probably not. Especially when you are 16, and havn't been driving for more than a year or two.
You may be reading this, and saying, "Meh, I'm a 'good' driver. I can talk on the phone, eat a burrito, and drive at the same time." Well, my friend, you have a very different definition of "good" than I do. Oh, and try not to spill that mild suace, it stains horribly.