Sunday, March 29, 2009

Questionable Question?

I came across this article (http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/uptospeed/2009/03/black-car-ban.html) about CARB looking to push for more reflective paints, so as to keep cars cooler. Their reasoning was that the cooler a car stays, the less A/C needs to be used, which in turn would use less fuel. 

One of the big things that came up was that black just wasn't reflective enough, and wouldn't be able to meet such a standard if implemented, but a recent statement calmed many fears of a ban on the color black in the near future.

Now, if you don't know, CARB (California Air Resource Board), is a division in California for emissions regulations (Green Freaks).

Well, I got curious, and looked up the board members, and credentials. Only one person was listed as automotive related. What really sucks about this sort of thing is the lack of knowledge dictating what should be allowed, and what should be banned. 

If you read in the article they want windows to come from the factory with a coating to keep your car cooler, but the last time I checked that is what some decent window tint was for. And coatings. Coatings are ussually chemicals, and I doubt any chemical mixed coating they want to spray on these windows are going to be natural in the least.

Then, they have this huge focus on energy saving, but they will not be open minded to diesel technology, which could provide nearly twice the fuel mileage of gas engines. Instead of encouraging the use of diesel, they claim that it is  filthy and is harmful to the environment. 

Another thing that I don't like, is the fact that they go around claiming that anything that has a chemical in it is bad for women and children, and the elderly, and the planet. But guess what? Everything has chemicals in it. 

I read an article on their websites front page, and it stated that air pollution caused more allergies. I say bull-shit. I think the whole clean freak, lack of exposure to anything causes more allergies in children. They can't build an immunity to particulates and dust, because you have that HEPA vacuum, A/C, and Lysol wiped everything in your house. A little dirt and dust never killed anyone.

What scares me is the fact that these people have the potential power to ruin the automobile. They could implement unrealitic policies that would, and could have already taken its effect on the industry.

It's just like what our teacher said about our government law makers not knowing enough about technologies. They have no business enforcing what they do not understand. 

I'm going to end this on a final note. Hydrogen is the answer. It is ready. It is efficient. It just needs an infrastructure to be set in place. Why it hasn't started already, is probably because of dirty money and politics, but it will have to come at some point. Hopefully sooner than later.  

Drift Genesis

Here's a cool look at the new Hyundai Genesis Coupe, Rhys Millen will be driving for the 2009 season of drifting. 

He gives a thorough look around, and gives a good description for what has and can be done to the car for racing purposes. 

Millen used to drive a Pontiac Solstice, but after his contract with Pontiac expired, Hyundai came to him with a proposal for their new, affordable, rear wheel drive coupe. 

Although I am not ecstatic about the looks, it's hard to beatthe value. The Genesis Coupe only costs a touch over 20K, and can be had with either a V-6, or a turbo 4.Tuners will eat it up, and they plan on selling a track pack version of the car.

Sounds good to me.

Sunday, March 22, 2009

Stunt 101

I thought this was pretty neat. Who doesn't like to learn a trick or two every now and then? Hey, maybe it'll help you get away from the badies...if such a case were ever to happen. You never know!

Vintage Racing. The Way it Ought to Be.

I was on Jalopnik  when I came around this gallery of photos from a British Vintage Race: http://jalopnik.com/5179447/no-prince-of-darkness-jokes-please-british-vintage-race-cars-in-action

I really like vintage auto racing. It keeps classics alive, and puts them to use. I never liked the idea of keeping cars locked up in museums and garages. By doing so, you greedily hide something that should be shared, and experienced. 

For instance, when there is a million dollar Ferrari in someone's garage, no one except for a fortunate few get to understand why it is such a special car, fetching such a special price. When you take said cars out to auto shows, such as Amelia Island, or Pebble Beach, you at least get to let others see and hear the cars of their dreams. When you take a vintage car racing, you allow yourself the pleasure of experiencing what fellow drivers from the past have felt, heard, and seen. You allow others to see what spectators saw.

Now, you don't need to have million dollar classics to go vintage racing, either. No, that's what makes it so great! If you look in the gallery linked above, you can see most of the cars racing are by no means expensive. You can purchase an old MG or a Datsun for a few hundred bucks,  and go to town. I've seen Go-Karts more expensive than that! And if you're older than 16, I doubt you want to go around bragging about your Go-Kart.

That's why I love vintage racing so much. It's history in front of your eyes, and you can experience it, too.

Saturday, March 21, 2009

And the Winner is...

As I posted yesterday, Audi raced their new R15 P1 race car in the 12 Hours of Sebring today. They took first place in the Prototype 1 class, and took the overall win as well.

This remarkable new car has not had as much testing as Audi says they would have liked, but today has proved their new car is a force to be reckoned with. Taking first and third, they have not only proven the speed of their new car, but the durability as well.

Audi's main rivals in the ALMS (American Le Mans Series), Peugeot, will have to really plan and prepare some strategies if they intend on taking the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Today they took second and fifth. 

This coming season should prove to be very competitive and entertaining to watch, keeping fans across the globe on the edge of their seats. I'm anticipating the arrival of the Formula 1 season, as well. Hopefully, that too, will be just as fun to watch.

Results for the 12 Hours of Sebring can be found here: http://www.americanlemans.com/index_news.php?n=12628

Friday, March 20, 2009

Truth in 24

Tonight I watched a special they had on ESPN called Truth in 24. It's an inside look into Audi's R10 diesel powered race car, and its venture in the 24 Hours of Le Mans. 

It was beautifully filmed, and it really gives an outsider a peek into what goes on in the pits and the drivers perspectives. 

The film takes place during the 2008 Le Mans race, and Audi is fighting for 1st against their new diesel powered rival, Peugeot. Peugeot's car is newer and faster, and has been beating Audi throughout the series. Audi hopes they can beat them in the 24 hour race with experience and reliability.

Until I saw Allen McNish deliver commentary to a video of the circuit, I never realised how different race car drivers were from good drivers. Perhaps, it's because he's actually driven the track, and has done so MANY times, he can deliver speed, gear, handling characteristics of the car,  and recollect just about anything that goes on during a "fast" lap. It goes to show how much information one must process while focusing on keeping the car on the track. Or better yet, how much focus is involved to not stop processing all that information.

Tomorrow is the 12 hours of Sebring, and Audi will be racing their new R15. We'll have to see if their new diesel V10 chassis performs as well as the rest of the cars. 

Details can be found here: http://jalopnik.com/5167230/the-audi-r15-tdi-now-in-glorious-detail

Sunday, March 8, 2009

Why Not?

Jalopnik has this great post they started doing again called "Engine of the Day". I was reading it and learned something cool? They show cased the Ford OHC (over head cam) motor, which was originally found in the Ford Pinto. 

Now, the Pinto may have not been the safest, but perhaps the coolest, because they were known to explode in rear end collisions. While the Pinto didn't last long the motor did, finding its way into many Ford's up until 2001. That's a good thirty years! The best part is, the last car equipped with motor was the Ford Ranger, in a 2.5Liter form.

Guess what? My Mazda truck, is a re-badged Ford Ranger. You know what motor I have? A 2.5L OHC. I drive a truck with a Pinto motor! Geez. That makes a lot of sense. If it were a modern design, it would have more than 80 horsepower.

But! I there may be an upside to this. I saw a few examples of some race-prepped OHC motors. MaybeI can build up my truck motor for some decent horsepower and snappy throttle response.

Oh yeah, I forgot, that's retarded.

I need that Datsun I've been eying for awhile. At least that car participated in motorsports.

Jalopnik post: http://jalopnik.com/5165997/engine-of-the-day-ford-ohc  

Music to My Ears

This weekend, the question came upon me: What is the best sounds made by a car? 

I had an idea, but I came up with a short list of some of the best sounding cars in the world. Here in order from first to fifth is my list.

1. Any cars from this fantastic Ferrari/Shell commercial, because it captures the awesome sound Ferrari has been producing for over 50 years.

2. This 1968-72 Nissan Skyline GT-R has proves that one of the best exhaust notes doesn't have to come from a huge motor. Equipped with a 2.0Liter straight 6 motor, it screams into the stratosphere.

3. Any Aston Martin will melt your heart, but the race cars will truly turn your insides into pudding. Here's the Aston Martin DBR9 on Top Gear

4. Now, I haven't forgotten the Americans! The Ford GT-40 makes a menacing growl that would make you grin for days.

5. Lastly, at number 5, I have to pick the Subaru with its Boxer 4 turbo motor. It has a deep gutteral burble to its exhaust note, and is easily identified from down the block.  Combined with the whistle from the turbo and its bypass valve, you have a sweet batch of candy.

 

This list is very open to my changing at any moment, because just like music, you get a taste for something different from time to time.